You could have had me…

A while ago I bumped into an ex, she wasn’t even really an ex we dated a couple times and then the just vanished, stopped returning my calls/texts/e-mails.

She was popular and I’m a little more nerdy and I don’t know if she got bored or I wasn’t enough for her. The why doesn’t really matter I suppose, it’s the fact that she wasn’t big enough to just say it wasn’t working.

From time to time I see her out on road and nod or say hello but in no way engage a conversation. I mean ok, she was a coward but life is way too short to hate. Anyway 6 or 7 years down the road, she is getting to the age where she told me she’d like to have settled and is clearly single, and I suppose I am 2. I am looking pretty much the same, (I am actually a little physically fitter cos I am doing more miles on the bike and on the road), she is looking ok but clearly I have aged better.

She went to school with one of my friends so they are chatting one Saturday night, and I walk over and she says the words “I was going to add you on facebook but I didn’t think you’d accept”. All I could do was shrug my shoulders.
I thought about getting into a conversation about what made her think that I wouldn’t accept her, but it wouldn’t have benefited me, and it would have ended up being rather childish.

I’m not bitter about it, it was a long time ago and it’s not like I was that into her, (we’d only been out like 3 times in 2 weeks!) but that little devil on my shoulder was loving it because it was obvious she acted like a prat.

Timing is a real bitch and I suppose everyone has either made the wrong decision in a relationship or ended a relationship and then regretted it later.

So when your man spends your rent money on weed, just remember, you could have had me.
When you realise that the grass wasn’t greener on the other side, just remember, you could have had me.
When you realise taking me for granted was a bad idea, just remember, you could have had me.
When your man beats you for bringing him a Fosters instead of a Stella, just remember, you could have had me.
When your man leaves you holding the baby, just remember, you could have had me.

Bitter? Nah. Smug? Yeah probably…

So was I right leaving her to it? Or am I being a little childish?

~ by shaolin2000 on 24 September 2014.

Leave a comment